Science and Tech


States Are Introducing Their Own Net Neutrality Protections

Nebraska, California, Washington, New York and Massachusetts have each introduced legislation to protect net neutrality at the state level.
Posted at 1:31 PM, Jan 10, 2018

States are introducing their own net neutrality protections — and possibly going up against the Federal Communications Commission in the process.

On Friday, a Nebraska state senator introduced legislation to enshrine net neutrality rules at the state level. The Hill notes Nebraska is the first red state to introduce such legislation, but it's not clear how likely the bill is to pass.

Other states considering net neutrality protections through legislation include California, Washington, New York and Massachusetts. And states like Illinois, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Iowa and Connecticut have each signaled interest to fight the FCC's action in court.

The FCC, wanting to block state legislation efforts, has argued broadband is an interstate information service. That means states and local governments can't undermine the federal policy.