Remaining Iran Nuclear Deal Members Reaffirm Commitment To Agreement

The U.K., China, France, Germany, Russia and Iran discussed a new payment system.
Posted at 11:27 AM, Sep 25, 2018

The remaining members of the Iran nuclear deal have reaffirmed their commitment to move forward with the agreement. 

The U.K., China, France, Germany, Russia and Iran held a joint meeting in New York on Monday, ahead of the U.N. General Assembly.

Part of the conversation was centered around creating a new payment system with Iran in an attempt to avoid U.S. sanctions against the country. 

The system would create a legal entity to facilitate payments with Iran. That workaround would let oil companies and other businesses continue trading with Iran while mostly steering clear of the U.S.

It's not totally clear how the new system would work. The E.U.'s foreign policy chief said in a statement that experts would discuss the details more extensively in coming days. 

Additional reporting from Newsy affiliate CNN.